Monte Carlo Tennis

Monte Carlo is the home of the Rolex Masters tennis games and if you have never watched a tournament, you are in for one more treat. The heat of the game when the players have hit the ball back and forth a number of times without missing will have you sitting in the edge of your seat.

Monte-Carlo Rolex Masters 2011

The king of clay, Rafael Nadal holds his first title of the season at Monte-Carlo Rolex Master 2011 on Sunday, 17th April, 2011 and clinches his seventh successive title at Monte-Carlo Masters on his favorite surface.

Then when one does finally miss the ball, you will feel as though the world dropped out from under you for a moment. The thrill of a good tennis game is unmatched by any other sport and that is why a city that is as competitive as Monte Carlo is has taken on tennis as the game of the ‘masters’.

Players like Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, Andy Murray, David Ferrer and Nicolas Keifer are just a few who been to the Monte Carlo courts as a master at the game. If you would like to obtain tickets to come and see them at what they do best, you should go online and arrange to buy some tickets and make Monte Carlo tennis part of your travel plans. You will need to reserve your tickets ahead of time.

Every year the best of the best gather together at the Monte Carlo Country Club to see who is the creme of the crop when it comes to playing the best game of Monte Carlo tennis. The winner will take the prestigious title at the Monte Carlo Rolex Masters tournament.

Monte Carlo Tennis

Monte Carlo Tennis

Who would want to miss such history in the making? Of course, if you did go to the tournament, you would have to have a place to stay and all the necessities. The hotel accommodations in some tennis trip packages will help in the way of saving money. You will only need to pack your bags and hop onto the plane or train and head towards Monte Carlo.

Monaco Tennis History

The Monte-Carlo Masters (currently sponsored by Rolex) is an annual tennis tournament for male professional players held at the Monte-Carlo Country Club.

The event is part of the ATP Masters Series on the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) Tour and is played on clay courts every year in the April-May period.

The Monte Carlo tennis championship was first held in 1897 and became an “Open” event in 1969. Between 1970 and 1989 it was a major tournament of the Grand Prix Tennis Circuit before becoming an ATP Super 9 Series championship.

Beginning in 2009, Monte Carlo became the only ATP World Tour Masters 1000 tournament to not have a mandatory player commitment but most of the top players still elect to play the event.

Since 1969, Ilie N?stase, Björn Borg, Mats Wilander, Thomas Muster, Gustavo Kuerten and Juan Carlos Ferrero have all won multiple titles. Players such as Reggie Doherty, Lawrence Doherty, Anthony Wilding and Gordon Lowe also managed to win a number of titles during the early 20th Century.

Monte-Carlo Rolex Master fact sheet

Surface : Clay
Draw size : 56 players
Prize Money : 2.227.500 €
Format : Best of 3 sets
Director : Zeljko Franulovic

Organisation :
48, Boulevard d’Italie
Le Puccini – BP 212
MC 98004 MONACO Cedex
Tel : (+377)-97-98-70-00
Fax : (+377)-97-98-70-01
e-mail :

Monte-Carlo Country Club

Monte-Carlo Country Club
155 Avenue Princess Grace
06190 Roquebrune Cap Martin

Website :

View Larger Map